Advice, College Life, Inspiration, Life, Post-Grad Life

Post Grad Life: The Job Hunt

job-hunt

Dear Post-Grad Life,

It has been two months so far since graduation, and I am still discovering what career is the best fit for me. Lately, I have been job-hunting almost everyday and it is exhausting, but I remain confident. I do plan on going back to school to earn my Masters as soon as I figure out what I want to do ,but lately I have been looking for stable jobs in order to start building my income and start paying my student loans.

During my job-hunting journey, I have experienced and learned so many  lessons about job-hunting and how the job market works. Job hunting is a constant pain. The job market shows how stressful it can be to stand out and how dynamic it can become. Sometimes, new hiring methods can so unnecessary that it is surprisingly helpful for human resource ,but not for the applicants. Therefore, I will give you my experience and tips about job-hunt process.

Applying Online is almost completely a waste of time! job-serach

  • Creating so many new accounts to apply for a job online (and forgetting your password because 9 out of 10, you won’t hear anything back from the HR.
  • Uploading resume ,but have to re-type your work and education experience
  • Completed the application, BUT WAIT, you have an online assessment that is going to take an hour or more of your life to finish.
  • Using job boards like Indeed, LinkedIn, and Careerbuilder most of time is a waste and a quick trip to rejection,especially if you are looking for a entry-level job that require more expected qualifications for the position.
  • Within that same week or later, you receive an automatic rejection email.
  • My Advise: Job rejection does NOT define you. It is NOT your loss, its the company’s lost. Keep applying.

The Interviewing

  • job-interview
  • Wearing a suit to wear for an hour or so wishing you can soon wear a suit going to an actual job.
  •  Group interviews are fun, creative, but can be highly competitive.
  • On on One interviews are not bad depending on the questions and the person who is interviewing you.
  • Pre-recorded one-way interviews are NOT professional at all it does not matter how “beneficial” it is. It is not natural to communicate to a web-cam and been given a very limited amount of time answering each interview question.
  • You can prepare as much as you want for each interview, but you will end up answering  unexpected interview questions.
  • HRs need more fun, creative interview questions. For example, an HR asked me what television character most describes me the most. I understand that are questions that should be job related but, it does not hurt to add at least 2 fun questions every now and then.
  • My Advise: Never feel inferior in front of your interviewer. Don’t fully depend on what YOU can do for the company. Depend on what the company can do for YOU as well. (similar to JFK’s quote lol).

Networking                          jo-b-help

  • Network with EVERYONE you know who can either get you a stable job to work until a better job comes along.
  •  Need more network folks? Volunteer ,or just get out of the house. You never know who you will meet.
  • My Advise: The more people you meet, the merrier.

 

The Asshole Critics

job haters.gif

  • Never stress when a person asks you this basic post grad question, “What are doing now? Are you working?”
  • Never let haters say that your program of study was a waste of time! If you’re passionate about your major, YOU WILL make it in life. For instance, my program of study is Psychology and I have no regrets because I loved studying the mind and nature of human beings. The major helped me understand people better and to think critically in the best way possible. Every major you have chosen must be filled with passion and respect. Treat your degree like it’s your child. You have to love it, defend it, and make it worth  while.
  • My Advise: After college you will always have critics judging your character at every moment of your life. You just have to have THICK skin because life is not sunshine and rainbows. You will run into your highs and also your lows. You just got to be a warrior to defend your integrity.

Appreciate what you have now for there will be something better for you soon.job-hope

  •  Family and close friends are your biggest fans. For example, I appreciate my mom for having me live under her roof until I am able to move out on my own with a stable job.
  • My Advise: Show your appreciation by doing something small and sweet.

During the unemployment phase…..job run.gif

  • Stay busy! Go to a local gym, volunteer,or work on something productive in the mix of job hunting.
  • Sell you textbooks!
  • Give away the college stuff to  Goodwill or hand-me-down them.
  • My Advise: You have a stay busy and accomplish something that can benefit a peace of mine even it means making up your bed everyday.

Well, that is all I have learned so far from my post grad life journey.  I will continue to give you updates about it. Therefore, stay tuned!

Life Lesson #82: Let your successes, mistakes, and failures strengthen your persona for you are meant to be on this earth for a meaningful purpose.

Comment in my diary~

