Childhood, Children, Confessions of A Woman, Life, Parenthood, Relationships, Women

Why Do I Want To Be A Parent?

parent

 

Dear Life,

So this semester I am taking a senior seminar course about Parenting and Families and on the first day of class, my professor asked the class a question that made me wonder about the future.

The professors asked, “Why do you want to become parent?”

That question may be a easy answer to most folks about why they want be parents, but to me, it just got me thinking. I know time has changed the views of having children. For example, I’m sure when it came to colonization we had to have children to populate. The royals have children to bring in an heir to their throne. People back then wanted children to help around the house or soon take over their parent’s businesses. Although this may be true back then, these reasons do not matter as much anymore.We do not need to populate anymore since there are billions of humans living on  this earth.

I feel like people today want to have children because of desire, cultural legacy, investing.

As for me,my reason to have children is a unknown. Why is that? Well, I am an only child that was raised by a single mother. I was an unplanned child and so was my mother so I guess I cannot ask my mother or  my grandmother about why they decided to become parents.

I am a 23 year old woman who is in a long-term relationship with my boyfriend and obviously other people have their reasons for us to get married and have children, especially my boyfriend’s family. My boyfriend is Hispanic and comes from a culture where having children is a cultural legacy. Therefore, I can see some of that influence in him wanting to become a parent.

Why do I want to be a parent? I just don’t know. If I don’t know, does that mean that I should not have children? I dream about what me and boyfriend’s future child will look like sometimes. I daydream about him and I being parents ,but a serious reason? Its a blur ,but if I do have a child one day, I do want him/her to have a sibling because I do not have siblings.

Concluding the topic, I’m still young and about to graduate from college. My focus right now is getting a job and living stable to where I can maybe think about whether I want a legacy or not. If I ever have children,  it would overall be for love.

Life Lesson #79: You may not know what you want now, but you will know one day.

Thank You,

Lady Elle~

Comment & Share: Why do you want to become a parent and what influenced you?

Comment in my diary~

