My Favorite Icon: Audrey Hepburn~

The one and the only beautiful, Audrey Hepburn~

Dear Ladies & Gents~

As a young girl, I have always admired Audrey Hepburn, and I have wanted to be just like her in every way. What I admire most about her is her sense of fashion, her grace, and her strong humanitarianism. Therefore, every time I see her on television or on a picture frame, I cannot help but be inspired by the legacy she left behind. With this being said, I will discuss her rise to success, her legacy as a fashion and historical icon, and what makes her such a remarkable humanitarian.

As a young girl, Audrey Hepburn dreamed of becoming a prima ballerina, but due to her poor nutrition, she decided to pursue an acting career. During the 1950s, she played minor roles in movies such as “One Wild Oat”, “Young Wives Tales”, and “Monte Carlo Baby”. However, unlike all of her earlier movies, she finally gained recognition in “Roman Holiday” where she won an Academy Award, Golden Globe and Tony Award.  Following this, she starred in “Sabrina”, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, and my all time favorite “My Fair Lady”.

Unlike stars such as Marilyn Monroe and Dorothy Dandridge, Audrey Hepburn continues to be a fashion icon. It is also noteworthy that the roles she played in “My Fair Lady” and “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” continue to be the focus of modern day art and pop culture displayed in Home Goods stores and art galleries throughout the world. .  Likewise, women continue to be inspired by the clothes she wore in “My Fair Lady” and “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” who were designed especially for her by Hubert de Givenchy. As a matter of fact, it is my intent to have a copy of the black and white dress she word in “My Fair Lady” as  my future wedding gown because of its class, modesty, and beauty.

Last, what I love most about Audrey Hepburn was her pure, strong heart for the people, especially children. For instance, she always wanted to make a difference in the world, and that is why she became a humanitarian for the United Nations Children Fund. Likewise, during the 1950s and early 1990s, she did humanitarian work in countries like Asia, Africa, Europe and South America.  Hence, always putting children before herself, in 1989, she gave away one her iconic dresses to a teenager that was poor and could not afford to buy a dress for prom. For this reason, her work as humanitarian continues to inspire me to want to help and inspire the conditions of people all of over the world.

In closing, Audrey Hepburn died at the age of sixty-three, but she will always be known for her grace, since of style, and humanitarianism. Likewise, her legacy will continue to leave a mark on the world for years to come.

Life Lesson #5: “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’! ~ Audrey Heburn

My Favorite Movie Scene From “My Fair Lady.”

Thank You,

Lady Elle~

P.S: R.I.P Audrey Hepburn

Comment in my diary~

